Psst.. while you're here.. Don't forget to check the Recent Topics or to make someone happy by answering any of the Unanswered Topics

First Year Gardener

👉 hangout for all other veggies. What do you grow and how do you grow them? 🥕
Espadas

First Year Gardener

Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:26 pm

This is my first year trying to grow anything, so obviously I have no idea what I'm doing. I've read multiple articles and watched many gardening videos on growing cabbages in Georgia, and I recently transplanted my cabbages last week into soil mixed with peat moss and compost.

They were starting to wilt, and I saw one of them had a leaf that looked as if it had been chewed, which is odd since my fiancé built the bed high enough to keep our rabbits. I just mixed in some coffee grounds with the soil because I read that it deters other pests. They have started turning yellow and I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong...

Posted with Growerflow mobile app

Sanna
Site Admin

Re: First Year Gardener

Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:25 am

Espadas wrote:This is my first year trying to grow anything, so obviously I have no idea what I'm doing. I've read multiple articles and watched many gardening videos on growing cabbages in Georgia, and I recently transplanted my cabbages last week into soil mixed with peat moss and compost.

They were starting to wilt, and I saw one of them had a leaf that looked as if it had been chewed, which is odd since my fiancé built the bed high enough to keep our rabbits. I just mixed in some coffee grounds with the soil because I read that it deters other pests. They have started turning yellow and I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong...

Welcome to Growerflow!

Yellow leaves might be a symptom to over watering, but since they are also wilting it could be something else.. How does the yellow leaves look? Can you add pictures?

Also: What type of Cabbage plants do you have? What size are the plants now?